Breakthrough Beesley Hoping to be Positive Omen

After becoming the latest Spireite to move through the academy and into the first team, Jake Beesley is now hoping to show the manager that he belongs in the starting 11.

With the striker’s first start for the Spireites at MK Dons coinciding with the club’s first win in eight league matches, the 19-year-old is hoping to convince the manager that he is a positive omen.

“Hopefully he see’s that,” Beesley laughed. “Obviously I was buzzing to get my first league start. I have been here since I was 14-years-old, so it is a dream come to true to get a first start. I am just buzzing.

“I had a hard season last year, I basically missed half of the season with injuries, I tore my MCL and then broke my foot, so it has just made me that little bit hungrier to try and get into the team.

“You have just got to keep going and make sure your attitude is spot on every day in training. You need to make sure you are working hard everyday, and just hope that the chance comes and when it does you have got to try and take it.”

Having come through the youth academy with best friend Laurence Maguire, who has also made his first-team debut this season, Beesley spoke of his relationship with the centre-back.

“Loz was buzzing for me, we have been best mates since we were about 12-years-old and we came through school together. It is amazing really that we are still playing football together and both doing what we love, it is brilliant, he’s encouraged me all the way.”

Beesley also spoke of the impact his dad Paul, a former professional footballer with Wigan Athletic, Sheffield United and Leeds United, has had on his career.

“My dad told me to keep calm, to relax and to take the opportunity with two hands because at the end of the day this is what I want to do and I had to try and take the chance when it came.

“He gives me little pointers as to what he didn’t like to play against as a centre-back, he just said work hard, don’t give the centre halves a minute and be a nuisance up there.

“He has a had a huge influence, he has always kept my head down and kept me grounded. I think I owe a lot to my dad really, just for being there and helping me all the way through.”

 

Leave a Reply

