Allinson: “I don’t really suffer with nerves”

Despite making his league debut and a series of impressive saves, Lloyd Allinson could take little satisfaction from the game at Fleetwood as the Spireites’ winless run continued.

The 23-year-old replaced Ryan Fulton in the starting 11 as Danny Wilson’s side looked to turn-around their poor form and the stopper started well, denying Amari’i Bell from close range in the opening ten minutes.
“My confidence went up after their first chance,” Allinson admitted. “I was just looking to stay strong and keep the ball out of the net. Obviously though that didn’t happen in the first or the second half, so it is a bit disappointing, luckily we have got Tuesday night to go again.
“The result was all that mattered, and while it was a good thing for me to make my debut, that wasn’t what I was thinking about today.
“I was in there to do a job and we didn’t come away with what we wanted so I am a bit disappointed, but on a personal side I was happy to be playing.”
Although he conceded twice, the former Huddersfield Town ‘keeper looked confident in his first league start, but revealed that he had little time to prepare for the match.
“I only found out in the changing room just before the game, so it was a little bit out of the blue, but I was ready to come in, I have been ready since I signed.
“I don’t really suffer with nerves, I tend to block it out a bit and there wasn’t really much time to think about it anyway, I just get on and do a job.
“It is different to training, you have got to do the business on the pitch and to be fair it is not something that I am alien to even though it was my first league start.
“I think we are all just disappointed with the result, that is all that mattered. Take my performance away, good or bad it doesn’t matter, the thing is, we are down at the bottom of the table and today was about getting the win but unfortunately it didn’t come off.”

With another fixture on Tuesday night against MK Dons, the Yorkshireman will be hoping to retain his place in the side and called upon his teammates to put things right.

“We just need to finish our chances, the fans that came today – who were brilliant by the way – will have seen today that we have had really good chances to win.
“At the back we made some good blocks and some good decisions, it was just the final third and putting the ball into the back of the net. We can call it unlucky but there is only so many times you can say that.”

 

Leave a Reply

