McGinn: “I can’t enjoy it because of the second half”

Paul McGinn opened his Chesterfield account with a stunning 27-yard strike in their 3-1 defeat at the Spotland on Tuesday night as the Spireites stretched their now decade-long EFL Cup drought.

The full-back was making his second start for Chesterfield against Rochdale, although his 31st minute strike could not help the Spireites to a win.
Two quick-fire second half goals from Ian Henderson and Andy Cannon gave Rochdale the lead before Nathaniel Mendez-Liang slid home a third to send the Lancashire side through to the second round.
“I wouldn’t get too excited,” McGinn said when asked about the goal. “I’ve had a couple over the years but I wouldn’t say it’s going to be a regular occurrence, hopefully it comes into my game, I do try and get forward whenever possibly and I need to try and add more goals.
“I enjoyed it, we kind of worked on getting it out to me because we knew that they played quite narrow and Jay O’Shea teed it up for me.
“I actually picked it up quite narrow and I knew that I could either cross it or have a shot, so I just thought I’d have a shot and if it comes back off the goalie good, but thankfully it went in. I enjoyed the fact it entered the top corner but it is hard to enjoy just now.
“We’ll get better than that over the season, Ched (Evans) and Jay (O’Shea) have both got that in their locker and hopefully it will come with a win because honestly I can’t enjoy it because of the way the second half went.
The Spireites welcome Swindon Town to the Proact this weekend for their second league fixture of the campaign, and the Scotsman hopes that the side can build stability at home.

“It is something that has been touched on,” he said. “That the home form last season wasn’t good, but these things go around, they come in cycles and hopefully this year it becomes a fortress for us, I think that with the pace that we have got we can make it a force.”

 

Leave a Reply

